Blended Learning Formats

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of Helen Dolan Helen Dolan 9 years, 10 months ago.

• Author
    Helen Dolan
    Participant

Hello all,

I am new to the CoI forum and am looking forward to sharing knowledge and experiences with everyone! For my first post, I’ll dive right in with a question that I’ve had for some time now.

As a grad student, I have been enrolled in a number of blended learning courses. In some cases, the course is configured such that some of the students are in the classroom with the professor while others (distance students) join the weekly class online via Blackboard Collaborate. All students participate in the Moodle asynchronous discussion threads. In my experience, the ‘division’ between the in-class students and the online students has been very problematic. There exists a widespread sentiment that the in-class students are developing a closer relationship with the professor, and that the online students are at a distinct disadvantage as a result (favouritism, professor ‘not paying as much attention to us,’ etc). I would be interested in learning whether this sort of format is common among Canadian universities, or whether most universities employ an “either/or” set-up; i.e. “everyone is in class or everyone is online” — not a combo of the two. (I should note that the asynchronous Moodle threads have been generally well received as a component of blended learning. The problem rests in the weekly classroom / Collaborate sessions.)

I would be most grateful to hear others’ thoughts and experiences!