COI Survey Instrument – instructor self-assessment

The Community of Inquiry Forums CoI Research – Discussion Forum COI Survey Instrument – instructor self-assessment

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of Annette Garner Annette Garner 8 years, 9 months ago.

• Author
    Jen Chingwe
    Participant

My name is Jen Swatton-Chingwe and I am using a modified COI survey instrument for my Ed.D. dissertation research (Rutgers) to study ways to use student perceptions of teaching presence to improve online instructor practice. I am studying an online professional development program and also plan to survey instructors using the same COI survey I give the students, but reworded so the instructors can self-assess their own teaching presence.

I have been searching for other studies where instructors self-assessed their teaching presence to guide my survey design but haven’t found anything. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I think it will be interesting to see how students perceive teaching presence and as compared to instructor perceptions. I am also going to do a content analysis of discussion forums (instructor posts) and instructor feedback to see if what students perceive based on the COI survey results has actually occurred in the course, and to what degree.

Thanks! Jen ;-)

Annette Garner
      Participant

Hi Jen,
      We redesigned a nursing capstone course, in a fully online baccalaureate completion program at the Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, using the CoI framework. It’s been about 2 1/2 years and faculty are having significant variations in teaching presence. I’d be every interested in your outcomes.

I’m also interested in the survey you’re using for instructors. Faculty are trying to get our arms around “how to be” across the various presences.

Feel free to email me at garnern@ohsu.edu

Thanks
      Annette

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
        Jen Chingwe